Review: Darkness 2002

HorrorMovieMama
2 min readMay 31, 2016

--

Review: Darkness 2002

Alright, to begin with, I know this movie wasn’t well received, and honestly I don’t see why. This is one of my favourite scary movies actually, I own it and I’ve seen it quite a few times now and I don’t understand why people think this movie isn’t a good movie…

Darkness, is a movie about a family who move into a large house, not quite in the middle of nowhere. The father has Huntington’s, and as soon as they move into the new house it’s as if his condition ‘wakes up’ and he becomes increasingly unstable and easily agitated.
To add to that, the boy in the family is clearly being abused by someone, or something, and there’s a deep dark secret about this house and about the family living there.

The most annoying factor in this movie is probably the mother, she is beyond useless. She will continuously ignore blazing red flags and she’s so pathetic you’ll want to scream at her to DO SOMETHING! …but I really think that the house plays a big role in how useless she is, it’s similar to “Amityville Horror” in the sense that the house itself, or perhaps just whatever is inhabiting the house, has a big effect on the people living there.

This movie has creepy scares, and jump scares, plus some gore/blood. The story is interesting and I love the ending. I suppose the movie’s biggest failing is that a lot of people found it predictable, but Ive always been pretty good at letting the movie guide me and not predicting things myself..
I don’t know, maybe I’m too easy-going on movies, Ive just always loved this one…maybe give a try with an open mind…? :)

--

--