Review: Fragile: A Ghost Story 2005

HorrorMovieMama
2 min readAug 25, 2016

--

Another one that isn’t particularly well received (as with others, I believe I found this on a list of “underrated” scary movies, so I’m certainly not the only one who enjoyed it), I actually found this one quite surprising. I won’t rave about it, it isn’t fantastic or a masterpiece… but it’s decently put together and the story is pretty unique. “Fragile” is a Spanish-British, supernatural thriller, and, being rather a ‘slow burn’, is rather enthralling and creepy.
This movie takes place in a very old, condemned children’s hospital. The hospital is being shut-down and, once the storm dies down, the patients are to be helicoptered out to a new facility. While they’re all waiting, a force, now clearly enraged, begins to take its anger out on the poor children, breaking their bones as they sleep! Now it’s up to Amy (Calista Flockhart), the new nurse on staff, to find out what is doing this and how to make it stop.
“Fragile” could be a great movie, as long as you don’t expect too much. It’s not particularly scary, but it’s certainly different, most complaints involve the word ‘boring’, but I disagree, I’d be more inclined to complain about the strange choice of story line..it’s certainly original, but it feels a bit.. ‘off’, it doesn’t quite ‘cut it’ for me… However, I do applaud the courage to try something new, and there’s definitely still enough to enjoy about this film, provided you aren’t too ‘picky’. And despite it being my main complaint, I can’t deny that the abnormality of the story resulted in a completely unpredictable ending! I’d recommend this as a “starter film”, in the ‘horror’ genre.

--

--