Review: The Poughkeepsie Tapes 2007

HorrorMovieMama
2 min readMay 29, 2017

--

U

Ultimately I did enjoy this creepy little mockumentary-style serial killer movie. It’s certainly not perfect, but I do think this film deserves more credit than it seems to have gotten. It definitely has a lot more substance than most other, similar horror films. I just finally saw this obscure little gem which patiently awaited public release for seven years since it was advertised in theaters in 2006/2007, but was then subsequently pulled. “The Poughkeepsie Tapes” received generally poor reviews, however, as it so often happens, there are a select few out there who, like me, did appreciate it for the somewhat fascinating, and indisputably creepy, well-made little film that it is.
“The Poughkeepsie Tapes” is the fictional account of a serial killer, shot in the style of a documentary and made up mostly of hundreds of tapes that the killer made, chronicling all the shocking and deplorable things that he did. In addition to the tapes, the film includes interviews with police and victims’ families. The majority of the time, I found “The Poughkeepsie Tapes” to be quite engrossing, the tapes offer such horrific insight into the twisted mind of a truly psychotic and sadistic serial murderer, and it was certainly chilling.
Keeping in mind that I am rather desensitized to horror, violence and torture, I would still say that this film was overestimated with regards to gore or ‘difficult to watch’ scenes… so, I would hesitantly recommend this to all true horror fans.

--

--